sgrldl@sagarladla:~/post/reviving-ageold-system/$

Reviving Ageold System

2 minute read Modified:

Reviving my ageold system at no cost!!! 🌱
Table of Contents

PC SPECS

I bought my first PC in 2012. It had:

  • Intel Pentium E6600 dual core CPU
  • 2GB DDR3 RAM (1333 MHz with CL9)
  • 450 W SMPS
  • NVIDIA GT 710 2GB DDR3 (added in 2018 for 2nd monitor)
  • Dual Monitor (2nd added lately for my work efficiency)

Utilizations

I use this PC pretty much for every thing.

  • watching movies
  • listening songs
  • browsing
  • streaming
  • coding
  • 4-5 terminals doing background tasks
  • a server serving home

Hell Experience

Earlier, till 2016 I was using Windows. Which became nightmare, PC suddenly froze while all work of 2-3 hrs lost. This happened periodically in 3-4 hrs every day.

Light OSes

Linux is like that great Hindustani SAGE which enlightens about ‘every one 💪 is as mighty as Microsoft kind guys 💪’. While tinkering and quite reading, there were few alternatives I prepared:

  • XFCE
  • LXDE
  • LXQT

From above UIs I happily use LXQT, it offers quite good (GUI - obviously, it’s QT after all ;)) (if it matters to you) and also being light weight I can easily work all day long just sacrificing few multimedia enjoyments while working.

Light environment

VS Code is also heavy for such kind of systems. Further improving this I created small tool which monitored GIT and helped me in managing updates with GIT all in Command Line Interface.

I simply use inbuilt editor and VIM/nano/pico.

Remarks

Since being system programmer, I love to use products which are OPEN & NEW. It helps me thinking about how heavy functionalities can be introduced with lightest touches.


AT LAST - HACK THE WORLD 👐